hema’s sphere

because i’m Muslim

Posted by hema on July 3, 2007

when i’m walking down the street, i will try to smile at everyone i see. i will try not to get angry even when i’m provoked. i will apologise even when it’s not my fault.

because it’s not just about me. it is about this beautiful religion i am representing.

i will endeavour to avoid criticising others. i will endeavour to see the good in everyone no matter what. i will endeavour to make 70 excuses for my brothers and sisters.

because i know noone has the right to judge but the One who has that right. because i can’t contol what other people do, but i can control how i react to it. because i know everyone makes mistakes, and in the eyes of Allah, my mistakes could be far far worse.

 i will strive to be the best person i can be. i will strive to do something positive for my community. i will strive to work extra hard.

because i’m Muslim and i want to show the world the beauty and compassion of my religion.

because i am part of something bigger than me, i am part of the communinity of the best of mankind, may the peace and blessing of Allah be on him. Alhamdullaih, thuma Alhamdulliah, i am Muslim.

sometimes i have the worst day, sometimes i feel like noone understands me, soemtimes i feel like crying myself to sleep because of how unfair it all is.

And then i remember i have Allah and my heart is filled with peace. and then i remember the love  my brothers and sisters have for me, soley for the sake of the One for whom we love. i remember i am Muslim.

everything good in me, everything i have achieved, all the blessings i have, is soley due to His mercy and compassion.

no matter how insignificant i am made to feel, no matter how bad the world is treating me, no matter what others are thinking of me, I will wake up every day with a smile on my face.

simply because i am Muslim.

and nothing in this world matters to me more than that.

23 Responses to “because i’m Muslim”

  1. You go girl! Well said, alhamduliah for this beautiful religion. It’s a shame some have hijacked the religion and turned it into something else. It’s a shame not everyone will understand this beautiful religion. But it is lovely that you are giving people a chance to know how we feel about our love, Islam. xxx

  2. 'liya said

    Well said Hema! That was a beautiful post in so many ways 🙂

  3. mishymoshy said

    Aww that was v sweet hema. You’ve inspired go and hug some trees and then shout at random passers by I’M A MUSLIM!!!! Anyone up for it? 🙂

  4. Ymiss said

    I like – not as much as baba’s stuff though – she’s my fave 😉

    Mishy – you go do that i’ll be rght behind..;)

  5. hema said

    unique- it is a shame. i was in central London yesterday and could see how scared people were feeling just walking down the street. but that’s not the Islam i know and love and i guess this post really is a reaction to that and a reminder to myself and others.

    liya- you’re beautiful in so many ways:)

    mishmoshmash- (a reaction to hemalemadingdong) i think i will leave the (poor) trees for you and ymiss to hug, but sure i’ll do soem random shouting if you like.

  6. baba said

    aw ymiss thankyou! yoou message made me come out of hiding 🙂
    hema well said well said that was quite (surprisingly) reflective of you

  7. americanmuslim said

    Beautiful, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  8. Mishmoshy, I’ve done that!!! hahahaaa

  9. Umm Yusuf said

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

    mash’Allah that is beatiful sister Hema!

  10. Snowdrops said

    You rock! That post is heart-warming [now i wonder if that makes sense *hmm*] But hey, one thing i know, that post has strengthened my heart Alhamdulillah.

    And then i remember i have Allah and my heart is filled with peace

    just like you once told me, in the rememberence of Allah do hearts find peace 🙂

  11. […] colourful, heart-warming entry, by sister Hema. Powered by Gregarious […]

  12. Assalamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullah
    I pray that you are in the best of health & imaan.
    This is a short message to notify you that this entry has been selected for publishing on I J T E M A; a venture to highlight the best of the Muslim blogosphere.
    To find out more about I J T E M A, and how you can further contribute, please click here.
    May Allah bless you for your noble efforts.
    Wa’salam

  13. hema said

    oh yay, i’ve been waiting patiently to get onto ijtema. jazakAllah iMuslim:) i miss you–oo

  14. carimuslima said

    ~Intuitive Muslimah Magazine~ 2 THUMBS UP, INVIGORATING, & CAPTIVATING!!!

    Girl this was awesome!!! Hit the core of Muslim issues on a global scale. I love this one my favorite for sure. Keep’em comin sista. Hugs 😉

  15. leila said

    Awwwwwww, so beautiful………nothing more to say…..

  16. hema said

    thank you leila and cari, i’m glad you guys have benefitted from it. you know i thought this entry would stay in my draft box because it was a bit personal, but i’m glad i published (an edited version of) it. leila- i can’t click on your blog from the link and it’s annoying me, but i’ll keep trying:) xx

  17. Nur said

    Mashallah, that is beautiful! Did you write this? Mashallah!

  18. leila said

    i am keep coming back to this article…..really sis, thanks a lot…p.s.I hope u saw my blog, wish to see ur coments there:)

  19. saika said

    I have known Hema since she was a weee child and in all honestly she never seizes to amaze me. All I can say is that beautiful people do indeed have beautiful minds and beautiful hearts.
    You make me proud little sis

  20. hema said

    bajjjiiii you find my blog at last!
    are you goign to set one up?pleeessee

  21. Sonia said

    ALLAHU AKBAR!! WE ARE MUSLIMS!!! this was inspiring..it reminded me to be careful of what i do, say and how i react. Jazakullah kair..its a reminder everyone needs.

  22. hfm said

    I love this!

    Mashallah.
    Makes me ULTRA proud to have such talented muslim sisters&brothers.

  23. H said

    Remember me? it’s been a while, since I dropped by 🙂

    I think you’ll like this website:

    ProductiveMuslimah . com

    I know the team.. so let me know if you’d like contibute.

    wa salam,
    -Hafsa

Leave a comment