hema’s sphere

will you hate me?

Posted by hema on July 4, 2007

is it just me, or does this nasheed really speak to anyone else?

Lyrics

 Will you hate me? by Dawud Wharnsby Ali

Smile in the two- way mirror of my eyes
I put on my faith like I wear a disguise
You can’t see my soul
See the life that I live
Show you the mask of the best I can give
I’ve hid here afraid like a child behind.
Truth of my thoughts that clutter my mind.

What if you knew about all that I do?
Things that I think,
The me that is true.Would you call me a hypocrite?
Call me a liar?
Would you curse out my name?
Would you damn me to fire?
Would you know what to say?
Or would you just walk away?
Afraid the me I’ve tried to hide
Would too closely resemble the truth of you that lies inside?

I’ve been looking for answers since becoming an adult
Not looking for dogma to live like a cult
I’ve been looking to live,
I’ve been living to find
Freedom from cages that limit my mind.

Would you call me a hypocrite?
Call me a liar?
Would you curse out my name?
Would you damn me to fire?
Would you know what to say?
Or would you just walk away?
Afraid the me I’ve tried to hide
Would too closely resemble the truth of you that lies inside?

Will I scare you, upset you, frustrate you, irate you?
Challenge a lifestyle or weaken your trust
Or will you see my efforts and my passionate sincerity
Would you see just a little of yourself in me
Will you take off your mask so we can both be free.

Would you call me a hypocrite?
Call me a liar?
Would you curse out my name?
Would you damn me to fire?
Would you know what to say?
Or would you just walk away?
Afraid the me I’ve tried to hide
Would too closely resemble the truth of you that lies inside?

19 Responses to “will you hate me?”

  1. Saabirah said

    Masha’Allah that does “speak” to me. I’ve always thought his lyrical abilities are very good masha’Allah.

  2. Snowdrops said

    DWA is one of my favourite nasheed artists. He has amazing and deep lyrics msha’Allah. And that nasheed too is one of the best 😀

  3. hema said

    erm.. we are talking about the same guy right? his stuff is mainly for kids! am i missing some deep meaning behind his lyrics!?
    on request, i will sing the whole of “the blue sky is blue like blue bubblegum” and “little bird” to you until it gets stuck in your head. actually, i will do it without requests until i get smacked in the head!

    he does have an amazing voice though, mashAllah.

  4. Journey said

    Oh, you are missing out on some wonderful lyrics if you think his stuff is aimed at kids. You’ve picked up on the 2 sillier songs above, but some of his others, wow!

    Please try to listen to the words of some of his songs. You’re missing out on a thought provoking, inspiring and sometimes eye-opening experience.

  5. Umm Yusuf said

    I really like his hijab song….ummm…..I forget the name of it! Hema, would you mind emailing me privately and explaining how to put a video on my blog from youtube like this? I would appreciate it….whenever you have time.

  6. hema said

    journey- i listened to the lyrics with new ears this morning on the way to work because of your comment!! Alhamdulillah. i don’t think the above songs are silly though. for example, “blue sky” teaches about family values:
    to be a mummy OR a daddy must be really REALLY hard, so Let’s take a break toGETHER coz i know how much yoU TRY

    and little bird shows how Allah doesn’t care about nationality or culture “Allah KNOWS the LANGuage you speak, and Allah can lift YOU high”
    (emphasis are mine from when i’m out of tune:) )

    UMM YUSUF- the hijaab song is just called “the veil”. i like it too, and i also like what he said about he doesn’t want the song to be used by sisters in a negative way..

    you know much i love to email you:) but i’ll do it on here in case anyone else wants to know. it’s simple really, copy the url from youtube, and then in your normal page, go right to the bottom and click on “video”. paste the url in the box provided and sent it to “editor” and then the url will appear on your page like normal.
    you see, i’m no tech expert but they make it as easy as possible”
    let me know if you need more help with this, or anything else. xxx

  7. Umm Yusuf said

    Jazak Allahu Khairan sister 🙂

  8. carimuslima said

    Ok well it did speak to me… It’s weird I think what he says is so true. We don’t know who the hypocrites are, and some of us may have a trait of a hypocrite. Maybe not a full hypocrite, but one of those traits. I think it was a great one actually really poetic and reflective on how improving our character is a daily task that we will work on until we take our last breath. NOne of us is perfect, and thus will usually find something that will keep us on that road inshallah in becoming a strong believer. Really liked it. Hugs 😉

  9. carimuslima said

    Oh yea Hema how do I send you my email. Not sure if you have it. Let me know if you have it listed inshallah. Since I’m playing catch up on reading the posts. Hugs 😉

  10. Emma said

    Maybe I’ve somewhat missed the point, but aren’t we supposed to hide our faults? Allah will hide the faults of the believers on the Day of Resurrection because they hid them themselves in this life – right? Surely that doesn’t make you a hypocrite?

  11. hema said

    cari—ii it’s really geat to see you back on here, i’ve missed you and yes, i have your email address now, i’ll email you soon as i need to send you passwords xx

    emma- i recognise the point you’re making. it is important to hide sins so they don’t become the norm and people don’t think “oh if s/he are doing it then it must be ok..”. i think the difference between doing that and being a hypocrite is that the hypocrite will indulge in the sin and then preach to others about how wrong it is.

    for me, the point of the nasheed is that people sometimes criticise others due to their own guilt. it also shows that we shouldn’t be so quick to judge others because we all have the potential to do bad things.
    and if someone tells you something you don’t like about their charcter, then don’t walk away in disgust. just recognise that thye are trying to be honest with you and help them without judging.
    have you ever had to adapt yourself to suit others because you think if this person knew the “real” me they wouldn’t even want to be associated with me? i think a true friend showuld accept everything, good and bad.

  12. Snowdrops said

    erm.. we are talking about the same guy right? his stuff is mainly for kids! am i missing some deep meaning behind his lyrics!?

    have you not heard his “out of sight, out of mind” nasheed? That’s just amazing 😀

  13. carimuslima said

    Jazak Allah Khairan Sis 😉

  14. Caged_Bird said

    whoah the lyrics on that are deep……….masha’Allah. he has got some really good stuff. i liked his ‘why are the drums so silent’ and another he did for the children of Kosovo i think its called the letter.
    For me this nasheed is saying, that we all have our faults to deal with and that none of us are perfect. We may look like the model muslim but inside we’re fighting even just to hold onto our deen. you tell the world one thing but you feel another inside, not in a bad evil hypocritical way. like if you found out something about someone you thought was so practising and you say now way, never her, who would have thought…..When we’re all human. we all have weaknesses. and yes we should keep such things secret, as confession is not from Islam. Dont give away your innermost thoughts, people may relish in it and could use it against you. Turn to Allah as He is the only One who truly understands and forgives. stay away form judegemntal minds….
    Thats what i understood anyway………..

  15. Anonymous said

    I’ve just listened to it. really cuts you inside. i knew someone like that. that person has had the biggest impact on my life. I wish i could have helped them, but Allah did not will it so…. There are lots of different people in the world, everyone with their own story to tell. sigh….
    Free me from the cage of my mind. a Jannah inside of us is freedom of the mind. insha’Allah. a peace from Allah.

  16. hema said

    snowdrops- ok ok i regret saying his lyrics aren’t deep! it’s just i tend to go for the kiddy stuff, i like the innocence of them after a hard day:)

    hey caged bird- salaam,
    i like the letter and why are the drums so silent as well, but if i had to choose one that is my favourite i would have to say “wisdom and tea”. have a listen if you haven’t already. i was trying to find it on youtube but couldn’t.

    thanks for your comment, it gave me a fresh perspective on it.
    Dont give away your innermost thoughts, people may relish in it and could use it against you
    exactly, i have seen this happen and it just isn’t nice.
    sometimes, though people just need someone to talk to and it’s just so important to go to someone that will help you stay on the straight path without judging you. sometimes, a good friend, saying the right thing at the right time, can make all the difference.
    and Allah, al-Wadood, knows what is deep inside our hearts and loves us still. subhanAllah. sometimes it’s just too profoud to even begin to comprehend.

    annoymous- ameen to your duas. you may not have been able to help that person but everything happends for a reason. inshAllah you will be able to help next time.

  17. Qisas.com said

    JazakAllah for sharing this.

  18. hema said

    i’m glad you benefitted from it.
    i have no idea what “Qisas” means. i really should work on on my arabic:(

  19. sarah said

    wow and mashallah thats alli can say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
