hema’s sphere

favourite teacher

Posted by hema on December 24, 2007

i remember mine, he was so cool, had the best sense of humour and always took the time out to explain things without making me feel totally dumb even though science was so not my strongest subject.

who was your favourite teacher and why? i want to pick up tips:)

12 Responses to “favourite teacher”

  1. iMuslim said

    My favourite was my Biology teacher. He wasn’t “cool” but just really nice, and explained everything well, with enthusiasm. I also really liked my A-level Maths teacher – he definitely had some “geezer” coolness to him. He talked about footie and used to regale crazy stories from his school days in Manchester. He had a self-confident, no-messing, straight-talking vibe to him. He didn’t try to “get down with the kids”, but rather, he posessed that special “thing” that made him popular with his students.

  2. darvish said

    Salaam and Greetings of Peace:

    When I was around nine years old and in public elementary school, our teacher was a kind young woman who made a deep impression on me much later in life. The memory of her face and features is vague now. I think she wore glasses. But she was a very good teacher, and one day a student said, “You’re nice.” She said, “That’s because I live by one simple rule, and someday you may find that it’s the best way to live: God first, others second, myself third.”

    I looked at her as if she were speaking a foreign language. “Who, what?” At nine, the only thought I had in my head was of myself. Now more than fifty years later, I finally understand that in those six words she had distilled the teachings of every Holy Book from the Bible to the Qur’an, and had also summed up the blessed life of all the Prophets of God, including Jesus and Muhammad (peace be unto them), and the loving-kindness and service of the Saints and Sufi Masters of every age. The entire length of the Sufi path is in those six words.

    God first, others second, myself third.

    I don’t remember her name, or know whether she is still alive, but may Allah bless her soul, who so long ago spoke wisdom to children.

    Ya Haqq!

    Originally posted on the Darvish blog.

  3. 'liya said

    Oh man, too many favourites to list. I like the ones that make you feel super important and special and take the time to establish a special connection with you.

    Darvish, I love your story! 🙂

  4. Sumera said

    Like iMuslim mine was my Biology teacher. He was really strict, but approachable (paradox i know). He gave us tons of work to do but we realised it was for us our benefit!

  5. hema said

    iMuslim- that’s interesting, that you said biology, considering your chosen career path:)
    i loved my English teacher too, but only because i was a bit of a teacher’s pet lol

    thanks, Darvish that really is beautiful and, as i have to keep reminding myself, just because someone doesn’t understand something at the time, or reacts badly to it, it doesn’t mean they won’t come back to it much later.
    i did a bit of work on religion for general studies. it went something like this.
    “do we have to do religion again, we had enough of it in RE”
    “this is pointless. i hate learning about this.why do we have to do it”
    “so, is Hinduism a part of Islam”(that’s why you have to do it. so you don’t make mistakes like that)
    i’m hoping they will come back to it at a later stage.

    liya- the individual connection is so important, but so difficult to do all the time. i find it hard not to have favourites!

    sumera- it’s funny, but the students complain a lot about the teachers that don’t stay on topic or if they don’t do enough work in the lesson. they do realise they need to pass at the end of it all.

  6. Maryam said

    I have many favourite teachers to list, but dont really have the Most Favourite Teacher as such …………….. 😦

    I remember my headmistress more, as she was very kind and co-operative with me always.

  7. samiabahri said

    I have had a few through-out my school years… i remember my math teacher from elementary/secondary school.(its combined in dk.) I was a horrible student, never did any homework, made troubles in the classroom, provoked the teachers and started fights all the time (Alhamdulillah, i am no longer a frustrated teenager) well, this teacher…- i hated his classes and wasn’t really nice to him, but whenever my mum came for parents day and even in general, he would always brag about me, say that i was a cleaver, cleaver girl and he saw so much potential in me… for some reason it stayed with me, and he actually made me believe in my own skills, despite the fact that i at the time, wouldn’t like to admit it.. last day after the finals, he came to me, gave me a pad on the shoulder and said ‘you will be something great someday’ while smiling…

    Another favorite teacher who made an impact was in collage. A young lady, who took the time to care and help me with personal issues- i feel today that i owe her alot for the person i turned out to be. when you grow up with issues of any kind, an adult who truely cares can do all the difference in the world.
    i wonder if they ever get told, how much they did…. maybe i should find her and thank her 🙂

  8. ymiss said

    samiabahri: I’m liking your math teacher now too 🙂 At uni one of my lectures was talking about how a genuine compliment or individual encouragment can change a child’s way of thinking. Your story reminded me of that think i’m difently give a genuine compliment and more individual attention whenever I can…If I ever qualify!!

    My favorite teacher would have to be my year 6 primary school teacher. I had to think long and hard about this (read your post afew days ago but couldn’t make up my mind) He always made learning fun, I remember we had to come dressed up as victorian’s and had a ‘real life’ experiance of how schooling would have been back in the day. He was also a very happy person and introduced me to ‘My best Fiend’. He let me read his daughter’s copy because the school library didn’t have it. Oh and he chose me for the golden award.
    Golden Awards were presented at the end of the year for the teacher’s pet basically. I got 3 🙂

  9. NATASHAAMINA said

    Salaam Hema :),

    I do not remeber my favourite teacher at the moment,but I thought I drop you a line anyway.I hope you are doing fine.
    Let me also wish a happy year 2008 and God bless you.

    P.S.:Hm,I think if you were my teacher you would for sure be my favourite one :)!

  10. Saima said

    That’s a beautiful reminder in your story, Darvish.

    Two favourite teachers come to my mind, both were only around for a short period but I’ll always remember them. The first was a supply teacher in Yr 6 at primary school who was filling in whilst our regular teacher was on mat leave. She was a breath of fresh air, completely changed everything we did, made every single one of us feel special. She’d do fun things like teach us how to say “Good morning” and other greetings in lots of different languages and we’d use them when she was going through the register every day, instead of the boring “yes Miss”. And she actually allowed us to eat sweets in class!! In fact almost encouraged it. She changed the normal routine of class and how we worked, all sweeping changes but for the better. The change we saw in the class was amazing, everyone was relaxed and happy and well-behaved, and everyone loved Mrs Lloyd.

    The other one was my A-Level Chemistry teacher, she was brilliant, really good at explaining things and never made you feel stupid. She was really relaxed and very approachable, and everyone was really sad when she left at the end of the first year. Chemistry just wasnt the same

  11. hema said

    maryam- that’s great about your headteacher. i think the principle of your college does a really good job, but most of the students don’t even know who he is and have never seen him. actually, i don’t think a lot of the staff have!

    samia- as usual, your stories of high school (or whatever you call it!) are inspiring. i have plenty of students who try to provoke me, i’ll try and remember they might appreciate it in the long run!
    when you grow up with issues of any kind, an adult who truely cares can do all the difference in the world
    indeed.

    ymiss- gosh, i barely even remember my teachers from primary school. maybe i’m getting old lol
    ok i’m glad we got something from this. more individual attention and compliments. actually i did soemthing similar recently and they loved it. i went round the room and wrote something nice about each of them to teach some grammar. eg “linda is wearing a beautiful,blue top.” pick out the adjectives, and in tutorial, i started a lisst for each of them and sent it round to everyone in the group. they had to write something nice about the person, and then i gave it back to person at the end.
    does that make sense?

    hey natasha- and thank you that’s sweet:)

    why hello there saima:)
    good morning in different languages, that’s a cool idea. hey, ymiss you should do that.
    my favourite was my A Level chemistry teacher too!

  12. samia said

    when someone do, tell him/her what a great kid he/she is instead, maybe it’ll help.. good luck 🙂
    salam

Leave a Reply

 
