hema’s sphere

favourite hadith

Posted by hema on July 12, 2007

i’n not going to be able to post anything new for a few days, due to the fact that i had around 300 papers to mark in 10 days, and so far it’s been 7 days and i’ve marked erm.. a hundred, so .. well you can do the math yourselves. so, i wanted the top post to be something beneficial instead of me waffling on (so why am i still waffling on…?)

anyway, while i was researching the ansar finance scheme, i came accross a hadith on abu eesa’s old blog (here) which is still my absolute favourite:
The Prophet (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said, “I wished I could meet my brothers, those who have believed (in me), but have not seen me.” (Ahmed, sahih)

doesn’t that just make any hardships we may face seem so—oo worthwhile?

please leave your favourite hadith/Qur’anic ayat for us to reflect on. try and limit it just one if you can. i know that’s a big ask, but it will make you focus in on why it’s important to you.

15 Responses to “favourite hadith”

  1. Shahrazad said

    ……………..
    Quranic:
    ……………..

    β€œO’soul, in complete rest and satisfaction!Come back you to your Lord,- well pleased yourself, and well-pleasing unto Him! Enter You, then, among My devotees!Yea, enter You My Heaven!” 89:27,28,29,30

    “Nor does any one know what it is that he will earn on the morrow: Nor does any one know in what land he is to die.” 31:34

    “So Peace on him the day he was born, the day that he dies, and the day that he will be raised up to life (again)!” 19:15

    I love also sura elvaqi’a, Maryam, Arrahman, Fajr, Zuha,…

    ……………..
    Hadith:
    ……………..

    “One learned man is harder on the devil than a thousand worshippers.”

    “One hour’s meditation on the work of the Creator is better than seventy years of prayer.”

    “God saith: ‘…whoso seeketh to approach Me one span, I seek to approach one cubit; and whoso seeketh to approach Me one cubit, I seek to approach two fathoms; and whoso walketh towards Me, I run towards him!'”

    “People are hostile toward what they do not understand”

    “Every statement in which God is not mentioned is a vanity. Every silence in which there is no thought of Him is carelessness. Every reflection in which there is no consideration of Him is an idle pastime.”

    “There is no wealth like education and no poverty like ignorance.”

    and much much more πŸ™‚

  2. Umm Yusuf said

    Qur’an:
    O ye who believe! Let not some men among you laugh at others: It may be that the (latter) are better than the (former): Nor let some women laugh at others: It may be that the (latter are better than the (former): Nor defame nor be sarcastic to each other, nor call each other by (offensive) nicknames: Ill-seeming is a name connoting wickedness, (to be used of one) after he has believed: And those who do not desist are (indeed) doing wrong. (English translation of Qur’an 49:11)

    Hadith:
    Narrated Abu Musa: The Prophet said, β€œA faithful believer to a faithful believer is like the bricks of a wall, enforcing each other.” While (saying that) the Prophet clasped his hands, by interlacing his fingers. (Bukhari,Book #8, Hadith #468)

  3. Anonymous said

    I love the hadith Qudsi ‘I Am as my slave thinks I Am. If he mentions Me in a gathering, i mention him in a gathering far better than that. If he comes to Me walking i go to him running….’ Meaning if we believe Allah loves then indeed He does, obviously we have to be doing deeds that beloved to Allah in order to be amongst the righteous slaves. and if we firmly believe He will answer our dua then He will and if we ask for forgiveness and believe He is the Lord of Mercy, then indeed He will forgive us. and if we ask Allah for guidance sincerely then He will grant us guidance from Him and make the good way easy for us. insha’Allah.

    Theres just too many qur’an ayaat too mention they all mean so much and at different times depending what your situation is one is held on to more dearly and you see life in a different light. At the moment im hanging on to
    ‘whosoever has taqwa of Allah and keeps his duty to Him, He will provide him from sources he could never imagine and whoever puts his trust in Allah, then He will suffice. Verily Allah will accomplish His purpose, indeed Allah has measure for all things.’
    (surah At Talaq: 2-3)

    JazakAllah khayr Hema for this very beneficial post.

    P.S haven’t seen you in some time!! have you heard from Farzana? when she back?

  4. liya101 said

    This is great! I’ll be back.
    Good luck with the marking!

  5. We have something in common, that is also my favourite hadith! It makes me cry everytime I hear the narration and I can picture it so clearly in my mind subhanAllah. I miss him although I’ve never met him, amazing isn’t it!

    I love marking papers!!!!!!!!!!! I love giving ticks and stars and 10/10s, haha! πŸ˜€

  6. hema said

    shahrazad, i’m glad you “cheated” and posted more than one because i really liked some of those.
    umm yusuf:that Qur’an ayat was a very acute reminder, jazAkallah.
    annoymous (aka caged bird- now how did i know that was you when you didn’t sign in..) likewise, it was nice to see your choices. you’re right it’s so difficult to choose just one ayat for the reason you mentioned- if you notice i couldn’t do it. but i will try..
    liya-i’m looking forward to your input. and i’ve been really good with the marking today:) it helped that one of the candidates decided to mark his paper for me.
    unique- well, you know great minds think alike:)
    and you can mark some of my papers for me if you like!
    it gets tedious reading the same thing over and over, but it’s very rewarding at the same time. i can’t wait to use some of the tips i’ve picked up with my students next year.

    again, thank you to everyone who has contributed. it’s nice and refreshing to see favourites from other peoples’ perspectives.

  7. Snowdrops said

    Quran:

    the one that goes somewhere along the lines of: Only in the rememberance of Allah do hearts find peace.

    and another one: O My servants who have transgressed against themselves! Despair not of the mercy of Allah.

    Just beautiful!

    I love marking papers!!!!!!!!!!! I love giving ticks and stars and 10/10s, haha!

    I do that with my own papes… haha πŸ˜€

  8. Anonymous said

    Aka Caged Bird!!

    oh its so much easier not to sign in unless you’re already signed in. (that doesnt make sense does it)
    Anyway its me cos we both know Farzana and we both missing her? or simply Saabirah told you cos she thinks she knows its me just by reading one line i write. i’ll show her i can stay anonymous and unknown if i want to. im not me! no im not! you Know-It-Alls just wait n see…..

  9. samia said

    hadith (Al-tirmidhi)

    The Prophet(salallahu alaihi wasallam) also quoted the devil as saying to Allah, ” I shall continue to lead Thy servants astray as long as their spirits are in their bodies.” Allah replied, “And I shall continue to pardon them as long as they ask My forgiveness.”

    I also posted it on my blog along with some other ones a while ago. This one just really speaks to me at the moment, the reminder that Allah shall pardon us for our sins as long as we turn to Him. maybe i just feel like i have alot to ask forgiveness for at the moment and that is why im so keen on this one.
    May He show mercy upon us and forgive us all for our wrong doings, insh’Allah.

    salaam xx

  10. hema said

    thanks snowdrops for your contributions, both of thse really are so beautiful.
    caged bird- go ahead and right annoymously on anyone’s blog-i promise you i’ll be able to pick it out! you’ve got a very distinctive way of writing (that’s a compliment)
    samia sweehtheart- ameen to your dua and thanks for the contribution. truly,Allah loves those who sincerely repent.
    aarrh i wanted to say more, but habiba the impatient one is coming to pick me up. have a read of this, sorry don’t have time tpo hyper link:
    http://southernmuslimah.wordpress.com/2007/07/01/attentionearn-many-rewards-and-expiation-of-sins-in-seconds/

  11. hema said

    i’m ba–ack.
    hey it linked it itself
    and i have no idea what i wanted to say. oh well, it probably wasn’t important. i’m going to look out for you on messenger tonight xx

  12. carimuslima said

    I luv these inputs great hadiths and verses of quran mashallah… ok well here are mine:

    Anas (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: The Prophet (PBUH) said, “Allah says: “When a slave of Mine draws near to Me a span, I draw near to him a cubit; and if he draws near to Me a cubit, I draw near to him a fathom. And if he comes to Me walking, I go to him running”. [Al-Bukhari].

    Quranic Verse in Chapter Al-Isra (17)Verses 107-109 Say: “Whether ye believe in it or not, it is true that those who were given knowledge beforehand, when it is recited to them, fall down on their faces in humble prostration.
    “And they say: ‘Glory to our Lord! Truly has the promise of our Lord been fulfilled!’
    They fall down on their faces in tears, and it increases their (earnest) humility.

    I loved this post!!! Hugs πŸ˜‰

  13. Um Yusuf as-Siddiq said

    Assalamu alaikum

    Bukhari :: Book 8 :: Volume 76 :: Hadith 509

    Narrated Abu Huraira:

    Allah’s Apostle said, “Allah said, ‘I will declare war against him who shows hostility to a pious worshipper of Mine. And the most beloved things with which My slave comes nearer to Me, is what I have enjoined upon him; (obligatory deeds) and My slave keeps on coming closer to Me through performing Nawafil (voluntary deeds) till I love him, so I become his sense of hearing with which he hears, and his sense of sight with which he sees, and his hand with which he grips, and his leg with which he walks; and if he asks Me, I will give him, and if he asks My protection (Refuge), I will protect him; ( i.e. give him My Refuge) and I do not hesitate to do anything as I hesitate to take the soul of the believer, for he hates death, and I hate to disappoint him.”

  14. anguishsoul17 said

    Can anyone explain above hadith?

    How can God become sense of sight, sense of hearing, hand and leg of the believer?

  15. Richad said

    As-salaamu Alaykum

    This is one of the most beautiful Hadith Qudsi… makes you cry… Allah’s Favour upon His slaves… Alhamdulillah!!

    If I may try to explain a little of what I understand, Insha Allah.

    In a few words: This is when Allah SWT is in the heart of His slave…

    Remember that other beautiful Hadith Qudsi where Allah SWT says: β€œThe whole universe cannot contain Me, but the heart of the believer contains Me.”

    Allah Haafiz

Leave a Reply

 
