hema’s sphere

i’m so sad

Posted by hema on July 10, 2007

oh, i miss teaching:(

i’m so sad(in more ways then one)

why can’t i just be like normal people and hate my job?

i wonder what my students are doing? they better be doing an awful lot of praying because nothing else is going to help them on the 16th and 23rd of next month!

i even miss brian (not his real name but it’s not rocket science to work out what it is!) and his sole purpose was to make my life a misery.

“if you don’t give me my ema bonus, i’ll make your life a misery”

he didn’t get his ema bonus.

hhm i wonder what happens to that money when student’s don’t get it? because if it’s going spare then i’ll havvv–ee it!

that’s another thing. money. sigh. when i have long holidays i tend to go a bit mad with shopping. i have to buy something whenever i’m out- even it’s for someone else- otherwise i just feel depressed. i wish i could just window shop like some people can. noone is allowed to let me go shopping this summer ok? i don’t need anything. you have to shout at me.

luckily at the moment i’m going though an “inside” phase and don’t want to go out at all. i’m quite happy to stay inside a–ll day. like i don’t understand why people go out for coffee. i can make perfectly good coffee at home.Β  ooh i want a coffee machine. you can let me buy that…

19 Responses to “i’m so sad”

  1. 'liya said

    “why can’t i just be like normal people and hate my job?” – lol I know eh!? πŸ˜€

  2. Ahmed said

    Coffee is just a nice excuse to going out and hanging out with friends somewhere.

  3. Umm Yusuf said

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa baraakatuhu,

    Alhamdullilah that you don’t hate your job sister! That would be even worse than missing it for a couple of months! How long is your summer break there? Here in the US the kids get about 3 months vacation for summer.

    Insh’Allah you will feel better soon. πŸ™‚ You can spend this time, insh’Allah, doing things that make yourself grow. Such as picking something that you’ve always wanted to learn more about and studying it, or you could volunteer, or even shop! hehehe πŸ˜‰ Although, if your sister won’t let you buy noodles then……..hehehe

  4. aspire said

    Don’t worry i’m sure you will start teaching soon. i can’t even teach the subjects that i have expertise in due to an arry of factors. Just pray someday I will.

  5. Snowdrops said

    I think you and I just had personality swap somehow… Imean… I hate shopping and now I see myself going shopping everyday! God help me! 8-|

    You’re soooo sweeeeet! wish I had a teacher like this who actually wonder what their students are doing 😦

    *sigh*

  6. nameeman said

    Assalamu Alaykum wa Rahmaahtullahi,

    “oh, i miss teaching:(” – I know how you feel…

    I use to be a student-teacher, but got a job in the tech-world, and I’m at a tipping-point…

    I’m curious to know what city, school: private/public/Islamic, subjects, grades do you teach.

    If you could contact me and provide advice, it would be of much benefit, In Sha Allah.

    JazakumAllahu Khayraa,
    w’salam

  7. hema said

    liya- yay we can be sad teachers together!
    ahmed- i guess the Americans invented coffee shops- friends style. it is a nice way to meet up with people but i’d rather make coffee and chillout with my friends at home.
    umm yusf- 3 months is a bit long! here the kids get abot 6-8 weeks.
    i have got plenty of things to do for summer (some of which involve teaching yay) that don’t involve leaving my house too much (yay)
    aspire- how come you can’t teach the subject you want to teach??? i have to teach general studies which involves teaching maths which is a joke really (me teaching maths) so i know how you feel. but hey it all looks good on your CV.
    snowdrops- i’m sure your teachers do wonder about you. i wouldn’t actually admit it to my students!! you guys just have a way of getting under our skin- whether your teachers want to admit iot or not! you know all we do in the staffroom is talk baout the students..
    nameeman- you should give teaching another shot! it’s much better and more rewarding then a tech job (although i guess it depnds on the person and what you are looking for in terms of job satisfaction and money!) you know being a student teacher is the hardest bit. it gets much easier after that!
    i’m not Amercian but i teach 16-18 year olds at a “public” School.

  8. ymiss said

    Hema – I feel like that every time a placement is over. Didn’t want the feeling after the last placement so now I go in once a week to just help out. Can’t wait till I have my own class, another 2 years *BIG SIGH*

  9. carimuslima said

    You see you’re such a good teacher mashallah!!! You miss your job… how sweeeeet. You definitely love what you do for a living. I would love to have a job that I love. Well at this point would love anything just to keep the marbles I have left hehehe… any job really would make me happy. I miss being a sales person for retail crazy I know but I love to talk to people. Anyway starting to ramble…

    I just got over the hermit phase. Now I’m in the stage where I just want to go and buy some coffee and drink it at the coffee shop without hearing the screaming of kids “Mommy she hit me”… “Mommy I want this…” Mommy look what she did to me…(they just said this now LOL go figure) Just 10 minutes of complete peacefulness and have a conversation with an adult that doesn’t involve potty training, cleaning up spills and all that fun stuff…

    So enjoy ur temporary hybernation and sit on the sofa with ur mug of coffee and indulge in some fun girl flicks or reading whatever is fun for u. Inshallah this summer will fly by and you will have another set of fantastic personalities to discover hehehe… Hugs πŸ˜‰ xoxoxoxo

  10. Lucyp said

    You are not alone Hema, window shopping does not exist in my vocabulary either.

  11. Sheila said

    I just had a coffee, outside, with a friend πŸ˜€ Lucky you, I hope I get a job that I love…

  12. hema said

    ymiss- voluntary teaching? you can most definitely join the sad teachers club- welcome!

    cari- I miss being a sales person for retail crazy I know but I love to talk to people”
    lol i can tell! mashAllah i’m sure you would be lovely to talk to.
    being a sales person sounds like hard work though!

    without hearing the screaming of kids
    yet i bet if you are away from the kids for longer than 10 minutes you miss them like crazy!

    …have a conversation with an adult that doesn’t involve potty training, cleaning up spills…

    you can come here an-ytime for that!xx

    lucyp- thank you, i feel a bit better!

    sheila- i’m glad you enjoyed your cofee. i’ve not stepped foot outside the house a–ll day:) although i have had a lot of coffee!it’s jsut an excuse for a break because of all the marking i’m doing:(
    hope I get a job that I love
    i thought you had a job. don’t you work in fashion??
    xx

  13. UmAbdurrahman, "Blanca" said

    As Salaamu Alaikum Sis:

    Mash’ALlah, first time I visit your blog. Yeah, teaching can be rewarding, and all the rest. I am sure when you get back to work the kids will have sooo much to share with you. It will be back to reality after the summer is over for you. So, enjoy what you like.

  14. Shahrazad said

    If i liked teaching, i could be physics teacher now, But i prefered to be journalist. I really dont know why i never liked teaching. Maybe bcs my mom was teacher also. :))
    Dont be sad, sometimes we need to be away from what we love, then we take energy and go back with more love. I feel what u mean. I am the same, when i buy something, even a needle, i take too much energy. You can go out and dont take any money or master card with you, then when u r solicited for shopping, you search for money and you dont find. Funny way really. Better i buy a coffee machine for you and you stay at home. Dont be sad, dont be.I buy for you :))

  15. hema said

    wa alaikum salaam umm abdurrahman and shahrazad and welcome:)

    “I really dont know why i never liked teaching. Maybe bcs my mom was teacher also”
    maybe! but we need more Muslim journalists so i’m glad you chose that field.

  16. Sheila said

    ASA Hema, hehe, I wish I worked in fashion, I am actually an engineer, and a aeronautical/mechanical one in that πŸ˜€ But, I am planning on designing (together with a friend who is also an engineer) fashion wear for hijabi muslimahs, InshAllah!
    Oh, I had another coffee today, in a cafe, actually discussing the future business plans πŸ™‚

    Ooh, marking, I actually had to do some teaching during my PhD and marking, I did not like it atall, especially when I had to mark someone really low… 😦

  17. Sheila said

    What it is it with me and ACTUALLY today :$

  18. hema said

    actually, i didn’t notice until you pointed it out:)

    wow a female aeronautical engineer, that must be heaps of fun..

  19. Sheila said

    Yah, heaps of fun only when you are studying it, not when you are looking for a job in the field with a hejab πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
